COSENZA (Italy) – Cathedral


The exact origins of the Duomo are unknown; it was probably built during the first half of the 11th century. An earthquake destroyed the cathedral on the 9th of June 1184, and its rebuilding was completed by 1222 when the cathedral was consecrated by Emperor Frederick II. At some point during the first half of the 18th century the church was covered by a baroque superstructure which obliterated the original structure and its works of art. In the first half of the 19th century the façade was transformed into neo-gothic style, which completely changed its character. At the end of the 19th century, Archbishop Camillo Sorgente entrusted the work to Pisanti, who recovered the original old arches and the ancient structure of the church. In the 1940s the work was finally completed. In the transept is the tomb of Isabella of Aragon, wife of king Philip III of France. A long aisle links the Duomo to the archbishops’ palace, the Palazzo Arcivescovile, which houses an Immacolata by Luca Giordano. One can also admire the rare and precious Stauroteca, a gift from Emperor Frederick II to the Duomo upon consecration. The work was produced in the royal goldsmiths’ workshops, better known as “Tiraz”, in a cultural environment which blended Muslim, Byzantine and Western cultural elements.

On the 12th of October 2011, the Cathedral of Cosenza received the status of UNESCO World Heritage Site for being “Heritage Witness to a Culture of Peace”. This is the first award given by UNESCO to the region of Calabria.


The new grand organ for the beautiful Cosenza Cathedral is located on the left side of the church, near the altar.
The new organ is not a copy of a specific style but is an interpretation of the romantic-symphonic French style with some of the nord-european influences.
he overall dimensions are: width m.7,60   depth m.2,50    height m.11,00
The console is positioned in the centre of the organ and has suspended key action and electric stop action.


3 keyboards of 61 keys (C-c) – pedalboard with 32 keys (C-g)

Keyboard  I – Great Organ
1. Principale 16′
2. Principale 8′
3. Flauto doppio 8′
4. Gamba 8′
5. Ottava 4′
6. Flauto aperto 4′
7. Duodecima 2.2/3′
8. Quintadecima 2′
9. Ripieno 4/7 file 1.1/3′
10. Cornetto 5 file 8′
11. Tromba 16′
12. Tromba 8′
Keyboard  II – Positivo
13. Bordone 16′
14. Principale 8′
15. Bordone 8′
16. Prestant 4′
17. Flauto a cuspide 4′
18. Flauto in XII 2.2/3′
19. Doublette 2′
20. Tierce 1.3/5′
21. Larigot 1.1/3′
22. Piccolo 1′
23. Cimbalo 4 file 1′
24. Tromba  8′
25. Clarinetto 8′
Keyboard  III – Recitativo Espr.
26. Controgamba 16′
27. Flute traversière 8′
28. Gamba 8′
29. Voix Celèste 8′
30. Flute Octaviante 4′
31. Nasard harmonique 2.2/3′
32. Octavin 2′
33. Tierce harmonique  1.3/5′
34. Plein Jeu 3/5 file 2′
35. Trompette harmonique 8′
36. Hautbois 8′
37. Clairon 4′
38. Voix Humaine 8′
39. Principale 16′
40. Subbasso 16′
41. Ottava 8′
42. Flauto 8′
43. Ottava 4′
44. Bombarda 16′
45. Trombone 8′


1. I al Pedale
2. II al Pedale
3. III al Pedale
4. II al I
5. III al I
6. III al II

Federico Vallini plays the Cosenza cathedral organ.


Federico Vallini was born in Florence. Previously professor at the conservatory of music in Cosenza, presently, professor at the Conservatory of Florence. Organist and choir director at the church of S.Matteo in Rome, he is very busy performing concerts in Europe.
He got his degree of Professor at the Conservatory S.Cecilia in Rome (10/10), degree in organ at the Superior Institute of music in Geneve (Switzerland)  (1°Prix and special prize “Otto Barblan). He followed a three year course in improvisation L.Rogg in Milan and participated at several masterclasses with L. Celeghin, M. Chapuis, H. Vogel, J.L. Gonzales Uriol, H. Haselböck, C. Stembridge